fbpx

Helise Lieberman on Warsaw Ghetto Anniversary

Reading Time: < 1 minute


Dear Friends:

Today, at 12:00 noon, a siren sounded in Warsaw in commemoration of the beginning of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising on April 19, 1943, and in memory of all those who fought. The custom of a large gathering in front of the Ghetto Heros Monument unveiled in 1948, had been put on hold during these unprecedented times. 

On today’s anniversary of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising, April 19, 1943, Helise Lieberman, Director of the Taube Center for the Renewal of Jewish Life in Poland Foundation Foundation in and a 26 year resident of Warsaw, will introduce us to some of the inspirational figures active in the Warsaw ghetto and the Uprising. 

Following this, we encourage you to watch the powerful docudrama directed by Roberta Grossman and produced by Nancy Spielberg, “Who Will Write Our History” Who Will Write Our History. Based on the book of the same name by Dr. Samuel Kassow, the film takes us inside the clandestine network, Oyneg Shabes, created by Dr. Emanuel Ringelblum, which preserved real-time documentation of life and death in the Warsaw Ghetto and beyond its walls 1940-1943. The Archives, like the Ghetto fighters and those who assisted them, is a testimony of courage and conviction in the darkest of times.

We invite you to join us!

Watch it live today on March of the Living UK at:
9:30 am PDT, 
12:30 pm EDT, 
6:30 pm UK, 
7:30 pm CET, 
8:30 pm Israel.

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on google
Google+
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn
Share on pinterest
Pinterest

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *